Monday, July 20, 2009

The Tarnished Eye by Judith Guest

A small town sheriff of Blessed, Michigan, Hugh DeWittg, is called when the bodies of publishing CEO Edward Norbois, his wife, Paige, and their 4 children are discovered by the local caretaker. Because it had been weeks before the bodies were discovered, they were all decomposed beyond recognition. In fact, Hugh finds it extremely puzzling that no one reported them missing earlier.

The family had been visiting their summer cabin when the murders occurred. Upon further investigation, Hugh discovers that the press's comptroller, Roger Frish, had been embezzling thousands without Norbois's knowledge, which would certainly give him motive for murder. But why kill the entire family, including the young daughter? Another possible suspect includes the banker with whom Paige was having an affair, who would also have plenty of motive for the killings.

Additionally, several murders of young coeds have been reported on a university campus in nearby Ann Arbor, and despite the differences in the cases, Hugh can't help but wonder if there could be a connection to the Norbois murders. There is something about these cases that touch home with Hugh and he is determined to look past the obvious to discover the truth behind this irregular case.

This is the first book I have read by Guest, and I would eagerly pickup another one of her books. This is a good alternative for fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Patricia MacDonald.

No comments: